top of page

What do the 7 main chakras stand for and how can they help you?

We hear about it more and more, but it always remains vague. Chakras emerge in yoga and sometimes during meditations. But what are chakras and do they really exist?

What do Chakras mean?

Chakras are energy centers in your body, there are 7 main chakras in total. This word comes from Sanskrit and literally means 'wheel'. To understand chakras it is important to assume that everything on earth consists of energy. We also radiate certain energy (aura) and are enormously influenced by the energy field around us. There are seven chakras, they all have their own color, which has a great effect on the body and mind. When you listen to all chakras and do what your body actually asks of you, you will be able to experience a balance. When chakras are closed, this can have a huge impact on your physical body and emotions. They can become blocked by, for example, trauma, stress, fear, etc. It is important to turn inward again and feel what your body needs.

There is much debate about whether chakras exist or not. However, chakra exercises bring many benefits whether they exist or not. Knowing about chakras will make it easier for you to accommodate sensations in your body. So you don't have to believe in Chakras to get benefits from them.

The Seven main chakras

Fox with chakras

The first chakra is at the bottom and the seventh at the top, so the route runs from bottom to top.

1. The first chakra is the Root chakra. Colour: Red

The root chakra is located at the bottom of the spine. This is about how well you can ground and how safe and supported you feel. This is also about the vitality you have and the basis of your physical life.

In balance we feel grounded and connected to the place where we are. We feel safe to experience peace.

Affirmation: I am safe and supported.

2. The second chakra is the Sacral chakra. Colour: Orange

The chakra is located between our pubic bone and the navel. This part is about our connection with others and the world. It is also about letting go of control and having confidence in yourself.

In balance we find intimacy, creativity, sexuality and connection with others. We experience pleasure, warmth and happiness.

Affirmation: I am good just the way I am. I am connected to others and the universe.

3. The third chakra is the Solar Plexus. Colour: Yellow

This chakra is located just above the navel and is all about self-confidence and self-esteem. It's about learning to reconnect with yourself and appreciate yourself.

In balance you are confident and you consider yourself worthy of being there. You also feel a strong sense of motivation in your life.

Affirmation: I have the right to be there. I radiate self-confidence.

4. The fourth chakra is the Heart chakra. Colour: Green

As the name suggests, this center is located at the heart. The heart represents our love and compassion for ourselves and others. We also see nature in a more loving and caring way.

In balance there is an ability to receive love and give unconditionally. Also give love to ourselves.

Affirmation: I love and am loved. Everything about me is allowed, even my imperfections.

5. The fifth chakra is the Throat chakra. Colour: Blue

The throat chakra is about communication. It's about learning to speak your own truth and not holding it back. You express your authentic opinion and support it.

In balance we find confidence in who we are and we find freedom to express our core values/truths. We can also listen with compassion to the truths/opinions of others.

Affirmation: I speak my own truth. I listen and respect the opinions of others.

6. The sixth chakra is the Third Eye chakra. Colour: Indigo

This center is located between your eyebrows and is the gateway to your inner knowledge/wisdom. It is important not to focus on your head, but rather on your intuitive heart.

In balance we have access to our intuition and inner wisdom.

Affirmation: I am in close contact with my intuition. I have compassion for myself.

7. The seventh chakra is de Crown chakra. Colour: Violet

The crown chakra represents the connection with everything around you and the divine. This is the unity that moves, guides and connects us. It is pure consciousness.

In balance we feel that we are one with everything around us. We feel connected to ourselves and everything that exists outside of us.

Affirmation: I am connected to myself and the universe. I have respect for everything that lives.

These were all seven chakra's. When you find balance in these chakra's, your life will start flowing again and you will experience inner peace.

- Namasté -


bottom of page